Truly Madly Amy by Kerry Wilkinson 🎧Audiobook Review @bookouture @kerrywk

Truly Madly Amy by Kerry Wilkinson  🎧Audiobook Review @bookouture @kerrywk

Happy hump day friends!

This book my friend is PERFECT for summer! A delightful coming of age story set at summer camp.☀️

Truly Madly Cover

My Thoughts

4 Nostalgic Summer Stars! ☀️

Title: Truely Madly Amy

Author: Kerry Wilkinson

Narrator: Joe Jameson

Story Rating: 4/5

Audio Rating: 4/5

📖 why you need to read this book!

• The book is jammed packed with nostalgic summer vibes.

• The summer camp setting was great.

• there really is nothing sweeter than first love!

• Joe and Amy are likable relatable characters.

🎧 why you need to listen to this book!

• I just love when a book set in the UK is told to me in an English accent.

This was a fun feel good coming of age summer read. I would say it is more of a book about Joe finding himself than a romance, but The innocence of first love is definitely present. I’ve seen other reviews that mention that there was “excessive teenage drinking“ in the story. I have no idea what the drinking age is in the UK, but as an American I didn’t find it excessive, just realistic. This is a very sweet summer story that will make you smile and want to fall in love for the first time again!💜

*** Big thank you to Bookouture & Bookouture Audio for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

We all remember that one magical summer that changed our lives.

For Joe, it’s 1999. School is over, and with zero idea of what he’s meant to do for the rest of his life, he’s reluctantly accepted a job at the local summer camp. Anything to drown out the sharp grief of missing his dad and move on from what school calls his ‘anger problems’. But getting screamed at by hyperactive ten-year-olds is almost enough to make him quit on day one.

Almost.

Then he sees Amy Ashworth for the very first time, her black hair shining in the sun – and learns that nothing hits harder than first love.

She’s the only person he knows who reads for fun, or who’s seen Titanic fourteen times. But there’s another side to Amy. Soon, she’s the only person he’s ever been to a wild house party with, or kissed under the twinkling stars. It’s the happiest Joe has ever been… until the terrible day when what’s left of his family fractures into a million pieces.

Caught up in Amy’s whirlwind, Joe can’t bring himself to tell the truth about his life. Would his dad have wanted him to fight for the girl he loves, or protect his family, no matter what?

Only one thing is certain: this is the summer Joe will grow up. But when he looks back decades later, will he be ashamed of his choices? And will Amy still be by his side?

Heart-warming, hilarious, nostalgic, and bittersweet, Truly, Madly, Amy explores first loves, last chances, and the summers that shape us. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Mike Gayle, and anyone who remembers the carefree days of being just sixteen, when the world was full of possibility.

Have a fabulous day filled with fantastic books! XOBERIT