Going Greek by Sue Roberts **Book Review** @Bookouture

Happy long weekend!

Hi saw my parents for the first time since March 2020 this weekend. My kids, my parents, and myself are all fully vaccinated! Was good to have family time. 💗


My Thoughts

A perfect bookish escape! Sam is the cohost of a popular morning TV talk show. That is until she is caught kissing a married man well I have to say I’m not certain why this caused such a scandal? Sam is not married she did not know this guy was married. I am kind of shocked people reacted this way but OK. SO Sam packs her bags and heads to her sister’s house on a small island in Greece. Now I can’t think of many better places to lick my wounds and regroup then on a Sunny Island. I loved the setting of the story: the sun, the sand, the food. I also really like Sam’s sister Fiona and her adorable twin nieces. The book fell a little short on the romance, I didn’t necessarily care for either of the love interests. One of them I don’t think we were supposed to like, the other guy? Didn’t really take much away from the book I think this was more about Sam finding her way and rediscovering herself. The perfect book to escape into on a lazy afternoon!

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***


About the Book

Sun, sea and a sizzling romance… the perfect holiday, right? Wrong.

After a work party gone disastrously wrong, Samantha suddenly finds herself jobless and jilted. So when her sister invites Sam to stay at her little whitewashed farmhouse on a Greek island, Sam leaps at the chance to escape. Before long, she’s trundling up the cobbled driveway, almost colliding with sexy neighbour Spyros.

It isn’t all sunshine and smiles though. For every afternoon spent lounging by the pool, cocktail in hand, there is a morning spent adjusting to life with boisterous six-year-old nieces. When Spyros invites Sam to explore the island with him she’s tempted, but with his carefree, live-for-the-moment attitude, he couldn’t be more different to Sam with her five-year plans and high-maintenance hair. One drink, as friends, couldn’t hurt though? Over glasses of fruity Greek wine and honey-sweet baklava, can he – and the other charming locals – help city girl Sam to appreciate the simple pleasures the Greek life has to offer?

Just as Sam is considering ditching her designer gear for good though, she runs in to an old flame from home, and suddenly her London life comes hurtling back. Can her smooth-talking ex convince Sam to return to the concrete jungle, or will the lessons she’s learned from her Greek escape persuade her to stay?

A fun, fabulous and completely laugh-out-loud summer read perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.


Author Bio:

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!

https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho

Buy Links:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bFSHt2Apple: https://apple.co/3bI9LhZKobo: https://bit.ly/2ScJhOBGoogle: https://bit.ly/37YjSNW

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s