The Moon Over Kilmore Quay **Book Review**

Hello reading friends!

This book, you guys was so good! But be sure to have some Kleenex handy! 💔


My Thoughts

A beautifully told emotional story. This is my first book by Carmel Harrington but I can guarantee not my last! 2020 Bea is staying home on New Year’s Eve after a bad break up when she receives a time capsule letter from her younger self. This letter seems to have some kind of magical powers and leads to Bea doing some major self reflection. Reaching out to people in her past, righting some wrongs, and ultimately heading to Ireland for some much needed answers. 1992 Lucy and her sister Maeve have just graduated from University when they hear of an opportunity of a lottery to go to America. The sisters cannot believe their luck when they find that they have won the lottery. SO they pack their bags head to New York, leaving all they know and their loving parents behind. Love both these characters and was equally invested in both of the storylines. What I most loved is that both Bea and Lucy had amazing supportive friends. I also really love the magical mystery element of the letter and what a catalyst it was for Bea. This story took some unexpected twists and turns, I loved it from beginning to end. A stunning story that hit me in the heart and gave me all the feels!

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***


About the Book

They say home is where the heart is, yet somehow my heart is split in two. New York, the city I live in and love, and Ireland, the home of my ancestors—somewhere I have lived only in my dreams. And now I have no choice but to go looking…

Brooklyn, New York: Broken-hearted and home alone on New Year’s Eve, Bea O’Connor finds a letter she wrote to herself nearly twenty years before…

In the letter, she’d wished for many things. To never lose touch with her two best friends. For her father to be happier. To one day go back to the picturesque Irish village of Kilmore Quay, so she could find out more about her mother who’d died when Bea was tiny. Bea had also dreamed that she’d one day find love—even if her heart is too fragile since losing Dan to think about that right now.

Impulsively she starts writing new little wishes in the margins of the letter. But as the moon goes down over New York City and another year begins, a little magic seems to be in the air. And, as shocking family secrets come to light and Bea finds herself having to travel to Kilmore Quay at last, some of those wishes start to feel like they really could come true.

Even if fate has one last twist in store…

An absolutely gripping and powerful story that will break your heart into thousands of tiny pieces, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Maeve Binchy and Jean Grainger.

About Carmel:

Carmel Harrington is from Co. Wexford, where she lives with her husband Roger, children Amelia and Nate and their beloved rescue dog, George Bailey. An international bestseller and regular panellist on Irish radio and TV, her warm and emotional storytelling has captured the hearts of readers worldwide, translated into nine languages. Carmel’s trademark is to write warm, uplifting stories with humour, heart and hope. She loves to write about family, friendships, love and life within complex, twisting plots. Carmel’s novels have been shortlisted for an Irish Book Award in 2016 & 2017 and her debut won Kindle Book of the Year and Romantic eBook of the Year in 2013.
https://twitter.com/HappyMrsHhttps://www.facebook.com/happymrshhttps://www.instagram.com/happymrshwww.carmelharrington.com


Summer in the Scottish Highlands by Donna Ashcroft **Book Review**

Happy Friday!

Excited to share with you today in my review for this fun cozy romance that put a big smile on my face!

My Thoughts

A sweet uplifting small town story filled with lovable quirky characters. Paige has returned home to a small town village in Scotland. Newly single Paige finds herself raising her daughter on her own and in need of a new start. Loved The setting of the story it just seemed like such a gorgeous welcoming place to live. Paige was a likable character even though I don’t think she properly appreciated this delightful village in the beginning. BUT when chef Johnny shows up she seems to perk up a little. I mean who wouldn’t? The man was kind, good looking, and he can cook! This is just one of those sweet feel good stories that makes you feel all warm and giddy inside! And I cannot forget the library! I mean seriously a library, a chef, and a small village, what more can you ask for?So grab your Kindle, your towel, and your sunscreen and hunker down for a perfect afternoon of poolside reading!

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***


About the Book

Escape to the gorgeous little village of Lockton in the Scottish Highlands, where you’ll discover sunshine, secrets and an unforgettable romance. It’s the perfect place to be this summer…

 

Thirty-year-old Paige Dougall’s life is a mess. Only a year ago she was smashing all of her life goals: handsome husband, high-flying job, cute kid. But in just under twelve months everything has gone wrong. Nursing a broken heart, single mother Paige returns to her childhood home in a picture-perfect Scottish village to try and get her life together.

 

Paige is too wrapped up in her worries to embrace the beautiful rolling hills and lavender-scented air of the highlands. That is until Johnny Becker, the infuriatingly cheerful chef, with his twinkling eyes and dimpled smile, steps onto the scene and provides Paige with some much-needed distraction…

 

Johnny challenges Paige to step outside her comfort zone and focus on the things that really matter. From food tasting, to puppy training, to mountain climbing, in every moment she spends with Johnny, Paige finds herself remembering how to live again… will she be able to love again too?

 

Across long sunshine-filled days, Paige and Johnny grow closer and she’s tempted to open her heart to him. But is happy-go-lucky Johnny hiding secrets of his own?

 

And can Paige learn to let go of her past and find happiness in the highlands?

 

A gorgeous, moving summer romance novel about finding joy in the small things and discovering what really matters in life. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Sarah Morgan and Cathy Bramley.

 

(Previously titled – Summer at Kindness Cottage)

 

Author Bio: 

Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager. 

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017. 
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she’s escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she’s not reading or writing she’ll probably be found hoovering … or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

Author Social Media Links: 

Website: www.donna-writes.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaAshcroftAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Donnashc

 

Going Greek by Sue Roberts **Book Review** @Bookouture

Happy long weekend!

Hi saw my parents for the first time since March 2020 this weekend. My kids, my parents, and myself are all fully vaccinated! Was good to have family time. 💗


My Thoughts

A perfect bookish escape! Sam is the cohost of a popular morning TV talk show. That is until she is caught kissing a married man well I have to say I’m not certain why this caused such a scandal? Sam is not married she did not know this guy was married. I am kind of shocked people reacted this way but OK. SO Sam packs her bags and heads to her sister’s house on a small island in Greece. Now I can’t think of many better places to lick my wounds and regroup then on a Sunny Island. I loved the setting of the story: the sun, the sand, the food. I also really like Sam’s sister Fiona and her adorable twin nieces. The book fell a little short on the romance, I didn’t necessarily care for either of the love interests. One of them I don’t think we were supposed to like, the other guy? Didn’t really take much away from the book I think this was more about Sam finding her way and rediscovering herself. The perfect book to escape into on a lazy afternoon!

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***


About the Book

Sun, sea and a sizzling romance… the perfect holiday, right? Wrong.

After a work party gone disastrously wrong, Samantha suddenly finds herself jobless and jilted. So when her sister invites Sam to stay at her little whitewashed farmhouse on a Greek island, Sam leaps at the chance to escape. Before long, she’s trundling up the cobbled driveway, almost colliding with sexy neighbour Spyros.

It isn’t all sunshine and smiles though. For every afternoon spent lounging by the pool, cocktail in hand, there is a morning spent adjusting to life with boisterous six-year-old nieces. When Spyros invites Sam to explore the island with him she’s tempted, but with his carefree, live-for-the-moment attitude, he couldn’t be more different to Sam with her five-year plans and high-maintenance hair. One drink, as friends, couldn’t hurt though? Over glasses of fruity Greek wine and honey-sweet baklava, can he – and the other charming locals – help city girl Sam to appreciate the simple pleasures the Greek life has to offer?

Just as Sam is considering ditching her designer gear for good though, she runs in to an old flame from home, and suddenly her London life comes hurtling back. Can her smooth-talking ex convince Sam to return to the concrete jungle, or will the lessons she’s learned from her Greek escape persuade her to stay?

A fun, fabulous and completely laugh-out-loud summer read perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.


Author Bio:

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!

https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho

Buy Links:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bFSHt2Apple: https://apple.co/3bI9LhZKobo: https://bit.ly/2ScJhOBGoogle: https://bit.ly/37YjSNW