The Secret at the Last House Before the Sea by Liz Eeles **Book Review** @bookouture

Happy weekend y’all!

Hope you guys are all doing well! I’ve had construction going on in my house for the past three weeks and it is finally done! 😌

My Thoughts

Sunshine and secrets. Liz Eeles whisked me away to small town Devin with her vivid and gorgeous storytelling. Rosie returns home from Spain after her mom passes away. Less than pleased to be back in the village where she grew up Rosie is determined to make this a quick turnaround. That is until she is informed that she needs to get her moms belongings out of the house stat. Reeling from the fact that her family home doesn’t belong to her family Rosie stumbles across even more secrets with bigger implications. What follows is an engaging story filled with family secrets, a gorgeous setting and a sprinkling of romance.

First of all there was such an amazing sense of place in this book. The setting usually is the last thing I focus on in a story but the descriptive writing painted such a stunning picture. The exceptional writing also brought the characters to life. I really liked Rosie and wanted the romance between Liam and her to work out. The secondary characters were wonderful and added so much color to the story. Looking forward to what Liz has in store for her next book in this delightful series.

*** Big thank you to Bookouture for my gifted copy of this book. All opinions are my own. ***

About the Book

Description: 

 

From the attic of Driftwood House there are stunning views of the deep green sea and sapphire sky. But Rosie can’t tear her eyes away from the faded photograph in her hands, and the words written on the back that will change everything…

 

Back in the tiny seaside village of Heaven’s Cove after the death of her mother, all Rosie Merchant wants is to hide her tears, rent out her childhood home, and get back to her ‘real’ life, away from the gossiping villagers and wild Devon weather she escaped from years ago.

 

She’s surprised to find a smiling man in hiking boots – local farmer Liam – waiting on the stone doorstep. His kind offer to help clear crumbling, isolated Driftwood House is hard to refuse, and despite Rosie’s determination not to let anyone get close, soon they’re walking and laughing together along the clifftops. As clouds scud across the endless sky and green waves crash against the shore, Rosie is reminded that nowhere is more beautiful than home.

 

Then, up in the attic of Driftwood House, Rosie stumbles across a photo which exposes the heart-stopping truth about how her mother came to live at Driftwood House years ago… and Liam only seems concerned about the implications for his own nearby farm. Did he know this painful secret all along, and should she run from Heaven’s Cove for good? Or will facing up to her devastating family history mean Rosie can finally put down roots in this beautiful place?

 

Get whisked away to the rugged, sweeping Devon coastline in this gripping story about old secrets, learning how to trust, and finding where home is. Fans of Debbie Macomber, Barbara O’Neal and Mary Alice Monroe will adore this gorgeous and uplifting read.

 

Author Bio: 

Liz began her writing career as a journalist and press officer before deciding that she’d rather have the freedom of making things up as a novelist. 

Being short-listed in the Corvus ‘Love at First Write’ competition and the Novelicious search for a new women’s fiction star gave Liz the push she needed to keep putting pen to paper …. and ‘Annie’s Holiday by the Sea’ (her first published novel) is the result. 

Liz lives on the South Coast with her family and, when she’s not writing, likes to spend time walking by the sea, and trying to meditate. Her ambition is to be serene one day …. she’s still got a long way to go.

Author Social Media Links: 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/lizeelesauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lizeelesauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lizeelesauthor/

Website: N/A

 

One thought on “The Secret at the Last House Before the Sea by Liz Eeles **Book Review** @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s